top of page

Studio Portraiture



 


 


 


 

Intentions

  • Illustrate the loss of identity and inner turmoil a person may feel when battling a mental health condition.

  • Symbolise rebirth and renewal with poppies, signifying a hope beyond illness and despair.

  • Use symbols of death to convey both the fear being condemned to a life of sickness and the perseverance to fight against it.

Successes

  • I was able to capture many successful images with both the film camera and the DSLR. I am happy with how many of them turned out and enjoyed the creative process in the dark room. My favourite photo from this series is the one where I used a blowtorch to burn through the model's face and layered that with other copies of the same image to really emphasise the concept of being both instigator and victim.

  • It was important to me to not only shoot dark images with negative connotations, but to also convey peace, rebirth, and healing. Many of the images with the poppies successfully evoke a sense of hope.

Improvements

  • I was unable to use some of the props I had initially planned for. These included the skull and the ram's horn, which were in use elsewhere, and the mirror, which I was unable to make safe after cracking it. I could have organised another shoot when the props were available.

  • Some of the film pictures have imperfections caused by my lack of experience in the dark room. I would like to learn more about different techniques to use when developing these images and apply this in future projects.

Comments


bottom of page