top of page

Still Life



 


 


 

Intentions

  • Demonstrate what a person with ill mental health may experience behind closed doors, for example, issues with medication, eating, and tackling negative thoughts and emotions.

  • Show a person's efforts to improve and recover.

Successes

  • The medication images in particular are very strong. Using black perspex underneath to create a reflection and a stark contrast with the white pills successfully shows how vital this type of treatment can be to a person with a mental health condition, and how finely-tuned a medication regimen is to an individual. This holds greater significance for me in retrospect, as I have recently experienced a medication withdrawal which caused a rapid dip in mood and rise in anxiety levels.

Improvements

  • Similarly to the studio portraiture shoot, I was unable to use the skull and ram's horn as planned, as they were in use elsewhere. I could have re-shot when those props were available. Fortunately, I knew these items were in high demand, so I planned a range of shots that didn't include them.

  • Very few of my images show recovery - most of them are quite negative. I could have put more thought into how best to show healing.

Comments


bottom of page