top of page

Proposal

My initial idea was to create a short documentary about the history of mining in Cornwall. I would have explored the reality of life working in the mines and the effects of mine closures on individuals and their families, as well as their wider communities. To further this, I was hoping to investigate the impact the Cornish mining community has had worldwide, particularly as a result of the Cornish emigration in the 17- and 1800s. The Cornish diaspora spread throughout Australia, South Africa, and the Americas, and I had started to gather information and speak to people currently working in the mines in Canada.

To document this, my intention was to interview several people about their interesting stories from the mines and ask them how mine closure impacted them. I was going to visit several locations around Cornwall for research, footage and photographs – disused mines that had been turned into museums, such as Geevor and Heartlands, and engine houses in various states of disrepair. In addition to this, I would have researched several photographers who went into the mines, such as J.C. Burrow, who, in the 1890s, was commissioned by the owners of some of Cornwall’s most expansive mines to document the underground technology.


It comes as no surprise, however, that the global pandemic has forced me to change my plan. I cannot go to many of the locations I had planned to, nor can I interview people in the way I had originally intended.

Instead, I will create a series of blog posts to document the impact the pandemic is having on people. These blog posts will record people’s experiences in different ways such as short videos, written accounts and photographs. Ideally, these stories will be categorised in order to break the content down into smaller chunks for ease of reading rather than just one big blog post. Such categories may include personal stories, news updates, and inspirational people around the world.

I intend to go out where I can to take photos of empty streets, social distancing measures in action, and people in masks, which I expect to become more commonplace as the lockdown continues. Of course, I will ask people for permission before taking their photo, especially as this is a difficult and sensitive time for many. This is also where I will research Sally Mitchell, a local photographer who is documenting the experiences of those in her close-knit community in Mevagissey, and how they are helping each other in this time of need. I would like to capture that same community feel in my photos, where possible. While I will go out where I can, I’m also conscious that I am in the vulnerable category for complications associated with the virus, so I must always make my health the top priority. This means that I cannot rely solely on venturing out of my house for content.

From home, I can post on Facebook and Reddit and ask for people to share their stories and experiences during the lockdown. I would like to look at both positive and negative effects of Covid-19, such as how the lockdown has brought families closer together and how people with symptoms are coping. I anticipate receiving various anecdotes from friends and strangers, and as such, I will need to handle the information sensitively. Some families may lose loved ones or have keyworkers on the front lines, and I must ensure that they feel under no pressure to share more than they are willing to, and that their privacy is not invaded. To do this, I will make it clear that all stories will be anonymised by either redacting or changing names and locations.

I would like to conduct some interviews if any people who respond to my social media posts are willing to participate. Due to social distancing measures, this will have to take place online where I cannot necessarily set up a shot the way I would like. However, I feel that sharing the person’s story is more important than the technical aspects of the video, so I will be content with shaky footage or sub-optimal lighting providing the interviewee is happy with how their voice has been shared. Similarly, I may read some stories aloud and record them. As I will be recording from home rather than in the studio, the sound quality may not be perfect.

As my opportunities to go out may be limited, and the number of stories received is dependent on the response to my social media posts, I also intend to collate media from other sources, commenting on how this documents the effects of the pandemic on people and communities. Some of these sources may represent what I would like to have explored had I not been in the vulnerable category and so unable to do so myself. This media may be news reports or YouTube videos of people’s responses to the virus and the lockdown. I must be careful to reference my sources and ensure that none of these sources may be misconstrued as my own.

Much of this project is reliant on other people opening up about their experiences, but I am hopeful that my plan to request stories on social media, monitor the news and Government updates, and going out to take photos when safe will provide me with enough content to document how this pandemic is affecting the lives of the general public, our friends and family, and people across the world. Some experiences will be devastating, but some will undoubtedly bring us hope.

Comments


bottom of page