top of page

Truro Cathedral

One of the most recognised landmarks of Cornwall, Truro Cathedral is a stunning piece of gothic revival architecture built between 1880 and 1910. Its spires can be seen above the Truro skyline for miles around and attracts 200,000 visitors a year. With countless services and ceremonies held over the last century, it's no wonder that Truro Cathedral is counted among Cornwall's greatest treasures.


This was a very quick test shoot I did while waiting for an appointment. Unfortunately, it started raining, so I only managed to get a few shots. From left to right, the filters used were 950nm, 720nm and 590nm. The first image looks as though it could be from a gothic horror movie, whereas the second is more reminiscent of the argyrotype alternative photographic processes.


I particularly struggled with framing the shot as shooting with such a short focal length does not lend itself well to architectural photography. I tried correcting this in Photoshop but the cathedral then looked squat and unnatural. Still, in its current state the cathedral looks particularly imposing, which complements its status as the most iconic building in Truro.


I would like to return so I can adjust the framing, test various filters, and hopefully take some shots without cars or people. In the left-most picture especially, I was frustrated when the car wouldn't turn off their lights, as that really pulls the viewer's attention in an unwanted direction. I also cannot afford a tilt-shift lens so will have to explore other ideas to optimise my composition.



Update: As we are now in lockdown and I don't live in Truro, I cannot go out to re-shoot the cathedral. I am disappointed as this is a particularly important place to Cornwall as a whole, and is very distinct from the other images I have shot for this body of work. I was hoping to be able to capture some of the stunning interior of the cathedral, but even when lockdown lifts it seems that the building will remain closed to visitors for some time.

Comentarios


bottom of page