top of page

Promotion and Exhibition






To promote my infrared project, I created a dedicated Instagram account - infraredcornwall (left). I also took over the FdA group Instagram - trurofda (right) and posted some of my images over the course of a week.


During my takeover week, I created the following posts on both the group Instagram and my own project account simultaneously. I aimed to capture the audience's imagination and show them the unseen beauty that surrounds them. It was important that I showcase some of my most eye-catching images without sharing everything, and to explain a little of the reasoning behind my project. Without going into too much depth, I tried to explain a little about how infrared photography works to pique the audience's interest without overloading them on scientific jargon. This worked well, as I have had several people ask me for more detail about how infrared photography works, and how they could get into it themselves. I included one behind-the-scenes image with the shot of the camera capturing the sunset - though I had intended to add in the image of the burnt car on Carn Brea, I had forgotten to do so until after I'd shared the Tehidy images and thought that bringing the focus back to the previous day's monument photograph would appear disjointed.




To further promote my work and both Instagram accounts, I posted the links to my personal Facebook page and encouraged my friends and family to take a look. Through this, several of my friends have not only followed my work, but also the work of some others in the FdA group. I also uploaded some of my images to my "Photography Shenanigans" album on my profile to showcase my growing talents as a photographer.


Over the last year to cope with lockdown restrictions and challenge myself, I joined several groups on Facebook for photography competitions. In one particular group, we would get a weekly theme, post a few pictures, and then vote for our favourites with the winner being able to choose the next category and their winning image featuring as the banner for the week. For my Wheal Coates image in the "abandoned" category, I came fourth! I'm quite enjoying being able to share my work and receive constructive feedback while also building up and networking with other photographers.



As we are currently in lockdown, the group exhibition has moved online this year. We each have a dedicated page with a gallery of our work. We are also in the process of creating a physical book in which we each had three double-page spreads to showcase our images. I can't wait to see a copy when we're back onsite.



Comentarios


bottom of page