top of page

Blog Research and Design

There are hundreds, if not thousands of guides on how to create a successful blog, but many of them contain similar core ideas. I have found that a blogger needs to:

  • Have a clear subject

  • Be personable and create a relationship with the audience

  • Add a call to action

  • Create an engaging title

  • Include written and visual content

  • Create internal links between posts

  • Be consistent - in layout, content, post schedule

  • Utilise search engine optimisation

My subject will be alternative photographic processes, and I will create two main post umbrellas - "all about" and "my experiments". All posts will be split into categories based on the post umbrella and the specific photographic technique involved. At the bottom of each page will be a recommended post section, linking to the corresponding post in the other umbrella (e.g."All About - Lumen Prints" will recommend "My Experiments - Lumen Prints" and vice-versa). Each post will have relevant tags and use a consistent naming convention for the URL slugs to aid search engine optimisation.


I will make careful design choices to enhance the reader's experience. Dark mode is becoming increasingly popular on websites and apps, so my blog will be primarily black with white text. This monochrome look will add a vintage feel to complement the alternative processes we will be exploring, but I would like to add a pop of colour while still retaining the simplicity of a dark mode design. The fonts I choose will need to be simple and easy to read, although I would like to make a distinction between titles and paragraphs, so will experiment with different combinations. I may use one serif and one sans-serif font to match the "traditional yet contemporary" aesthetic.


As this blog isn't just a guide to different processes, but a record of my journey as I learn about them, my writing style will need to be personable. I will need to cultivate a relationship with my audience, allowing them to celebrate my successes and share in my failures. It is important to include my failures because, as amateurs learning alongside me, my audience may also create some disappointing images. I don't want to project the idea that I am perfect and have mastered each technique - my audience deserves authenticity and, if I want them to respond to my call to action and engage with my posts, I have to be a person worth engaging with.


As well incorporating humour into my writing, the posts will need to be clear, use little jargon, and be structured in a way that is easy to scan through. I will make use of the Headings and Paragraph presets to organise each post and make it easier for the reader to find the section they want to read, which is especially important if they are returning to a post to find the steps on how to use a particular technique.


Below are the tools I am using to help me structure and produce this blog. The first is MindView, where I have created a mind map outlining my design choices and things to be mindful of when creating the site. I am also using Todoist, an app that helps you create a to-do list, break each task into steps, and tick them off once you are done. I have particular difficulties with working memory, task initiation, and time management. Todoist is helpful as it allows me to keep track of what I've completed and motivates me to start the next task. For longer written tasks I have added an estimate of how long I think each will take me. As I work on the task, I will have a timer on and can compare my estimated completion time with the actual completion time.





As I work through this blog, I am taking screenshots of some design choices, including colour scheme and backgrounds, layout and font choices, and SEO options.




 

References


Comments


bottom of page