top of page

Beach Photos

Initially, I was hoping to go to various beaches around Cornwall and take photos. I was aiming to showcase some images and convert others to digital negatives in order to create some cyanotypes with them. Below is an example of what I created to use as table names for my wedding last summer, using images I had taken of beaches that are important to me and my husband.



Due to the lockdown and being in the vulnerable category, I couldn't venture out to even my most local beach. I still wanted to include beach photos somehow, so I found some of my favourites that I had taken over the last few years since moving down here, including many of the images I used for my wedding. I chose these because the places they were taken have meaning to me. They are a record of some of my most magical moments with my husband and my family, and they are memories that I never want to lose. I have lightly edited the images (and removed a person in one of them!) and have compiled them together in the categories of Sunset, Splash, and Reflections.




 


Sunset


Many iconic images of Cornwall's coastline are enhanced by spectacular sunsets. These are a collection of some of my favourites. The depth created by the rocks in the first photo draws your eye further into the picture. The second image has a beautiful contrast of colours, with the warmth of the sky and the coolness of the sea. The third image was taken at Fistral beach, and I love the small silhouette of a woman and her child walking towards the sea amongst the vastness of the rest of the scene.



The final image in this category was a case of being in the right place at the right time. The tide was rapidly coming in at Perranporth, yet three young surfers swam out to the rock, and climbed on top. Two of them created a heart shape, and the third person, I later found out, took a photo of his friends. I didn't know any of these people, so I reached out on Facebook to see if I could find who they were, in case they wanted a copy of the image. I soon got a reply - the mother of one of the young surfers had seen my post and was delighted with the photo. I sent her a high quality file (as Facebook reduces the image quality) and in return, she sent me the photo taken from the surfers' perspective. While I am not including this in my book, I thought it important to include it here.





 


Splash


Another iconic scene at many of Cornwall's beaches is the crashing waves. Cornwall is famous for its surfing, particularly because of the Atlantic swells that come into our north coast. There is nothing more memorable than walking through the breaking waves and feeling the sand run under your feet. Some of my fondest memories are wading through the shallows with the sea spray covering my face.





 


Reflections


While I don't agree with balloon releases for environmental reasons, I was touched when I saw this woman at Poldhu. Without a word to anyone, she walked down to the shore with her helium-filled balloons, released them, and watched them pensively. The beach is a source of comfort and peace for many people, and you cannot help but wonder who this woman's tribute was for. Perhaps she lost a loved one and wanted to symbolically release the balloons heavenward. I felt honoured to have witnessed such an intimate moment.



As the woman above went to the beach to find peace, so do many of us take to the shore to reflect. We find calm places where we can be lost with our thoughts, where we can create memories with our families, and where we can admire the beauty of the natural world around us. All of these photos were taken at beaches that are special to me - Pentewan, Gwithian, Poldhu, North Cliffs, Perranporth and Portreath. Each one holds a memory of an adventure, whether that be seaweed-jumping with my husband, shell-collecting with my niece and my brother, or finding a rainbow of scattered light on the wet sand while walking alone. Each image allows me to reflect on these moments.



Comments


bottom of page